Today is an important day for self-quantifiers since the 2015 QS Conference begins in San Francisco, with an extra show for the public on Saturday (see program http://qs15.quantifiedself.com/program/). I’m unable to go, but was convinced by Alberto Frigo (see link) to send in material for the show (see Figure 1). I tried to combine several of things into one poster, some pictures from the narrative camera, steps with the fibit and notes from my logbook, and got a graph that really underlines that the most important moments are unquantifiable. In this case, the photos on the top are of the day of birth of Liam James, our son born at 16h36 on November 4th (2014) at our home in Madrid (see quantified birth blog; https://mokestrel.wordpress.com/2015/05/22/quantified-home-birth/). The bottom photos are of the day when my father passed away in Montreal on December 7th (2014), almost a month later at 12h22. I combined the data on steps from both days in an Excel graph.

This is the heading for the poster that will be shown in San Francisco:

Life, logging, and death. Last year (2014) was quite eventful and three logging devices helped me record it all; a log book, a narrative camera (a life-logging camera which I wear on my shirt and that takes 1 photo every 30 seconds) and a fitbit. There were two events that were especially important, the birth of my son Liam James, and the fairly sudden death, one month later, of my father at (age 71). What do my devices have to tell me about those moments? Around the moment of birth and death, logging told me little. In the former, I could not write, I took the fitbit off (it did not make it into the birthing pool) and left the narrative camera in the living room. When my father died, I had plastic gloves on and no notebook, I was sitting in a hospital chair (no steps) and the narrative camera was hidden underneath my hospital gown. Really my devices, looking back, tell me little, except that intensity is hard to capture. Or can they tell me more?

birth

steps_life_death

death

